International Youth Silent Film Festival NZ winners

UNO. Magazine IYSFF

Eighteen-year- old Tauranga filmmaker Tina Jeong is the winner of this year’s International Youth Silent Film Festival (IYSFF) New Zealand Regional competition.

Tonight was named win­ner at a red-car­pet event held at Bay­court Com­mu­ni­ty and Arts
Cen­tre in Tau­ran­ga on Wednes­day (Novem­ber 22), with Miss Jeong also pick­ing up Best
Direc­tor and Gabriel­la Eaton, the sole per­former in Tonight, win­ning Best Actor.
Along with receiv­ing high praise for her film from the celebri­ty judges – actor and
screen­writer Tim Balme and Bay of Plen­ty Film chief exec­u­tive Anton Steel – Miss Jeong won a total of $2250, includ­ing the $2000 first prize spon­sored by The New Zealand Broad­cast­ing School.

This means a lot to me as a stu­dent who’s just fin­ished school and doesn’t have any
mon­ey,” she joked while accept­ing her first place award.

It is the sec­ond con­sec­u­tive year that the Tau­ran­ga Girls’ Col­lege stu­dent has won a top
hon­our in IYSFF after plac­ing sec­ond in the 2016 IYSFF NZ Region­al.

The oth­er big win­ners on the night were Mos­giel broth­ers Bena­iah and Toby Dunn whose
silent film The Chase won a total of $2250, includ­ing $1500 for sec­ond, spon­sored by The
Uni­ver­si­ty of Waika­to. The com­e­dy also picked up three ‘Best Of’ awards for
Cin­e­matog­ra­phy, Pro­duc­tion Design and Shot.

Round­ing out the top three was The Smile Shop made by Rose McMa­hon and Samuel
Edwards from the West­ern Bay of Plen­ty. The duo won $1000 spon­sored by Pri­or­i­ty One
and each received a famed copy of a poster they designed for The Smile Shop as part of a
com­pe­ti­tion intro­duced to the IYSFF NZ Region­al for the first time this year.

The top three films and their mak­ers are auto­mat­i­cal­ly invit­ed to the week-long
Inter­na­tion­al Youth Silent Film Fes­ti­val Final in Port­land, Ore­gon next June.

The awards audi­ence was treat­ed to a screen­ing of all of this year’s top 12 films, each
accom­pa­nied live by award-win­ning Amer­i­can organ­ist and IYSFF com­poser Nathan Avakian
who per­formed on Baycourt’s Mighty Wurl­itzer organ.
IYSFF New Zealand co-ordi­na­tor, and Bay­court man­ager, Megan Pea­cock Coyle, said the bar was lift­ed by this year’s com­pe­ti­tion.

Thank you for putting your work out there,” she told the young film-mak­ers. “It is a very
brave thing to do, and good luck for the future to all of our top 12 film­mak­ers – I look
for­ward to see­ing all your names in lights.”

The IYSFF is for film-mak­ers aged 20 and younger. Ten gen­re sound­tracks are pro­vid­ed for
entrants who make 3-min­ute silent films of any style, includ­ing ani­ma­tion. Next year’s New
Zealand Region­al con­test will close on Sep­tem­ber 1. Find IYSFF con­test details at

IYSFF New Zealand Region­al Prizes 2017: Best Film: Tonight, Tina Jeong (Tau­ran­ga Girls’
Col­lege), 1st; The Chase, Bena­iah and Toby Dunn (Taieri Col­lege, Mos­giel), 2nd; The Smile
Shop, Rose McMa­hon and Samuel Edwards (West­ern Bay of Plen­ty), 3rd; Oedi­pus Rex,
Ysabel­la Steven­son, Naia Doak and Ale­sha McFar­lane (Mahu­rangi Col­lege, Auck­land), high­ly rec­om­mend­ed. Best Direc­tor, Tina Jeong (Tonight). Best Actor, Gabriel­la Eaton (Tonight). Best Cin­e­matog­ra­phy, The Chase. Best Pro­duc­tion Design, The Chase. Best Edit­ing, Oedi­pus Rex. Best Shot, The Chase. Friends of Bay­court Choice Award, Shad­ow of Scar­let, Sarah Kolver and Joshua Kib­ble­white (Uni­ver­si­ty of Auck­land). IYSFF NZ Region­al Poster Com­pe­ti­tion, The Smile Shop.

View the top 4 movies here: